16 party-list congressmen vote against ABS-CBN franchise renewal

- Advertisement (970x250 Desktop) -

- Advertisement (300x250) -

PAGEONE Spotlight

How do you feel about this story?



A total of 70 members of the House of Representatives of the Philippines voted against ABS-CBN Corporation’s application for a 25-year license. Among them, 16 are party-list representatives.

- Advertisement (300x250) -

On July 10, 2020, a total of 85 panel members were present to cast their votes whether or not to allow ABS-CBN to renew its franchise. Out of the 85 panel members, 46 were regular members while 36 were ex-officio members who either were physically present or attended virtually via the Zoom app.

Chaired by Palawan representative Franz Alvarez, the Philippines’ House Committee on Legislative Franchises needed 43 votes to get the majority to deny the franchise application ABS-CBN to construct, install, establish, operate and maintain radio and broadcasting stations in the Philippines. Here are the 16 party-list congressmen who voted against the television network’s franchise renewal:

  1. Abang Lingkod party-list’s Joseph Stephen Paduano
  2. Abono party-list’s Conrado III M. Estrella
  3. ANAKALUSUGAN party-list’s Michael “Mike” Tan Defensor (Roberto Puno)
  4. Ang Asosasyon Sang Mangunguma Nga Bisaya-OWA, Mangunguma-Inc. (AAMBIS-OWA) party-list’s Sharon Garin
  5. Anti-Crime and Terrorism Community Involvement and Support (ACT-CIS) party-list Eric Go Yap
  6. Bagong Henerasyon (BH) party-list’s Bernadette Herrera-Dy
  7. Coalition of Associations of Senior Citizens in the Philippines (SENIOR CITIZENS) party-list’s Francisco Datol, Jr (Michael Romero)
  8. Dumper Philippines Taxi Drivers Association (DUMPER PTDA) party-list’s Claudine Diana Bautista
  9. Liquefied Petroleum Gas Marketers’ Association (LPGMA) party-list Allan Ty (Aurelio Gonzales Jr.)
  10. Marino party-list’s Sandro L. Gonzalez (Prospero Pichay Jr.)
  11. One Patriotic Coalition of Marginalized Nationals (1-Pacman) party-list’s Enrico Pineda
  12. Probinsyano Ako party-list’s Jose Singson Jr.
  13. SAGIP party-list’s Rodante Marcoleta
  14. Puwersa ng Bayang Atleta (PBA) party-list’s Jericho Jonas Nograles
  15. Tingog Sinirangan party-list’s Yedda Marie Romualdez
  16. Trade Union Congress Party (TUCP) party-list’s Raymond Democrito Mendoza

Check the complete list on Conan Daily.

What can you say about this story?

What can you say about this story?

This article has been initially published last

What can you say about this story?

- Advertisement (300x250) -

What's the latest?

- Advertisement (970 x 250 Desktop) -